The AFA is a grassroots initiative driven by individuals who are building a home for Asian films and a haven for independent filmmakers, to share, inspire and create.

Kenneth Paul Tan


Angela Wong

Eric Chin

Glen Goei

Stanley Tan


Apichatpong Weerasethakul


Aruna Vasudev (PhD, University of Paris)

President of NETPAC
(Network for Promotion of Asian Cinema)

Chris Berry (PhD, UCLA)

Professor of Film and Television Studies, Goldsmiths
College, University of London

Chua Beng Huat (PhD, York)

Professor of Sociology, National University of Singapore

Chua Tat Seng (PhD, Leeds)

Professor, School of Computing,
National University of Singapore

David Bordwell (PhD, Iowa)

Jacques Ledoux Professor of Film Studies,
University of Wisconsin–Madison

Hou Hsiao Hsien


Howard Besser (Phd, UC Berkeley)

Director of New York University’s Moving Image Archiving & Preservation Program

Jan Uhde (PhD, University of Waterloo)

Professor of Film Studies, University of Waterloo

Kenneth Chan (PhD, Florida)

Professor of English, University of Northern Colorado

Kenneth Paul Tan (PhD, Cambridge)

Lee Kuan Yew School of Public Policy, National University of Singapore

Lim Song Hwee (PhD, Cambridge)

Department of Cultural and Religious Studies, The Chinese University of Hong Kong

Ray Edmondson (Phd, Canberra)

Founding Chair of Southeast Asia Pacific Audio Visual Archive Association (SEAPAVAA) and Honorary Curator Emeritus of National Film and Sound Archive

Rey Chow (PhD, Stanford)

Andrew W. Mellon Professor of the Humanities, Brown University

Trinh T. Minh-ha (PhD, University of Illinois, Urbana-Champaign)

Professor of Women’s Studies and Rhetoric, University of California, Berkeley

Karen Chan

Executive Director

Chew Tee Pao


Christina Mak

Operations Executive

Janice Chen

Archive Officer

Joshua Ng

IT & Technical Executive

Thong Kay Wee

Outreach Executive

Samuel Seow Law Corporation

Corporate Secretary & Legal Consultant

Tricor Singapore Pte Ltd